ITD's Enterprise Capacity Management Team Wins Project of the Year at IT Service Management Conference and Exhibition

Congratulations LAUSD’s Information Technology Division for winning first place at the IT Service Management Conference and Exhibition. Known as the Pink Elephant, a global training, consulting and conference provider, this year’s theme was Communicate. Connect. Change.

During the 21st Annual ITSM Conference, ITD’s Enterprise Capacity Management team won an IT Excellence Award for Project of the Year - recognizing the team’s commitment to IT Service Management.

LAUSD’s ITD launched the Enterprise Capacity Management (ECM) program to improve operational structures, processes, and resources at our school sites. In the last two years, LAUSD has seen an 80 percent growth in the number of wireless devices, as well as an increase in the number of new instructional initiatives that were driving bandwidth needs.

Moving to a more proactive and service–oriented approach, ITD implemented the ECM to monitor, analyze, and manage current and future network bandwidth demands at our school sites. The ECM project resulted in ITD organizational changes, new and improved processes, and new tools that had a significant impact on benefiting students and instruction.

Among the daily benefits of proactively increasing bandwidth for schools based on needs, the ECM project also:
  • Ensured students and staff at 749 schools were able to complete over a million online assessments between April 21, 2016 and June 10, 2016
  • Ensured students who needed access to online recovery courses was available - which ultimately helped to increase our graduation rates from a projected 49% to 75% with 136,000 students taking thousands of online courses over six months
  • Accommodated the average per student bandwidth growth which nearly doubled from 0.07 to 0.145 Mbps from September 2015 to 2016 and increased bandwidth to 573 site based on trend analysis for the past 17 months
Congratulations ECM Team:
  • James Alther
  • Isela Carrillo
  • Dan Castle
  • Larry Citco
  • Bryan Godinez
  • John Lin
  • Ann Mori
  • Darlene Nhieu
  • Elsa Saldana
  • James Walker